Tufts University  |  School of Engineering  |  Find People  | 


Mechanical engineers are involved with just about every engineered product that we use in today's world – transportation systems, electronics and computers, energy systems, biomedical devices, robots, and much more. Here at Tufts, we have embraced this diversity along with interdisciplinary education and research. Join us as we design the future.

Research Areas

> Applied Mechanics
> Biomaterials
> Controls/Robotics
> Design/Systems
> Human Factors
> Materials/Manufacturing
> Thermal Engineering (Fluid Mechanics Energy)

Faculty Highlights

Engineering Education

Professor Chris Rogers for receiving honorable mention in this year's Tufts Teaching with Technology Awards. Professor Rogers was honored at the 2013 Teaching with Technology Symposium — an annual event that provides faculty from across the university the opportunity to explore teaching techniques and technology tools used to enhance student learning.

ME News and Events

Allen Wins Graduate Student Award

Matson Discusses Electromagnetic Levitator with NASA

Whitehead, E63, Receives AGU's Maurice Ewing Medal

Trustee and Alumna Awarded the 2015 International Palladium Medal

Trustee and Alumna Awarded the 2015 International Palladium Medal

Rogers Featured in Globe for Robotics Education

Messner Published in PNAS

Sokolov Awarded NSF MRI and CMMI Grants

New Book Edited by Messner

Misra Wins Kepler Award for Lifetime Achievement

Vannevar Bush Dean's Medal Lecture: Richard H. Frenkiel, E63

More news >

Degree Programs

Undergraduate Degrees:
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering
B.S. in Human Factors Engineering (Engineering Psychology)

Graduate Degrees:
M.S. in Mechanical Engineering
M.S. in Human Factors
M.S./M.Eng. in Bioengineering
M.Eng. in Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering

Alumni Profile

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) Scientist Emeritus Jack Whitehead, E63, has been selected to receive the 2014 Maurice Ewing Medal from the America Geophysical Union (AGU). The Maurice Ewing Medal is given annually to one honoree in recognition for "significant original contributions to the ocean sciences."