Tufts University  |  School of Engineering  |  Find People  |  Give  | 


ChBE in the News

Seven ChBE Majors Receive 2011 Undergraduate Student Awards

Daniel Rodkey

Senior Daniel Rodkey received a Jonathan M. Tisch College Presidential Award for Citizenship and Public Service. This award recognizes undergraduate and graduate students from all schools for outstanding achievement in community service and community leadership. As one of three seniors who joined the "Chemistry Organized Outreach Partnership," Rodkey has served as a science ambassador for local high school students - visiting 15 classrooms in Somerville, Malden and Medford this year alone. In this role, Rodkey spent part of winter break helping 300 high school students with an experiment examining genetically modified foods. Additionally, Rodkey has served as a FOCUS trip leader for two years, Head tutor for the Health Career Fellows at the Academic Resource Center, and a member of the Tufts Marathon Team.

Seniors Anh Dinh and Qianwen Liu have been jointly selected to receive the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering Prize, awarded to a senior who has shown excellence in chemical engineering studies.

Senior Qianwen Liu has been selected to receive the Lt. Commander Robert James Manning Memorial Prize, awarded to students who are industrious, competent, and enthusiastic and who show the same commitment to excellence that Manning demonstrated throughout his life.

Junior Michael Yi will be awarded the Max Tischler Prize Scholarship. This scholarship is presented to an outstanding student in the sciences, preferably in chemistry, who is entering the senior year.

Junior Sanya Ramjattan will receive the Audrey Butvay Gruss Science Award. This prize is awarded with preference for a female student who has demonstrated outstanding academic work in any of the sciences and who is a scholarship recipient.

Sophomore Kim Stachenfeld will receive the Karno Dean's Award for Academic Excellence and Leadership. This is awarded to three sophomores (one from each college) who have shown great promise in their academics and demonstrated leadership on or off campus.