Tufts University  |  School of Engineering  |  Find People  |  Give  | 


Contact Info:
4 Colby Street, Rm. 146
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155

Tel: 617.627.3048
Fax: 617.627.3991
Email Professor

> Publications
> Research website

Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos
Distinguished Professor
Robert and Marcy Haber Endowed Professor in Energy Sustainability

Nano Catalysis and Energy Laboratory


B.S., Chemical Engineering, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
M.S., Chemical Engineering, University of Florida
Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, University of Minnesota

Brief Biography

Dr. Flytzani-Stephanopoulos is a Distinguished Professor and the Robert and Marcy Haber Endowed Professor in Energy Sustainability in the School of Engineering at Tufts University. She joined the Chemical Engineering Faculty of Tufts University as the Raytheon Professor of Pollution Prevention in January 1994. Her previous work experience was with MIT's Department of Chemical Engineering, and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. At Tufts, she directs the Nano Catalysis and Energy Laboratory, which investigates new catalyst materials for the production of hydrogen and ‘green' chemicals. Pioneering work from her lab has demonstrated the use of single atom catalysts for reactions of interest to fuel processing, which entails efficient and sustainable use of precious metals in clean energy production, and in the commodity and value-added chemicals production with improved yields and reduced carbon footprint. Since 2002, she has served as Editor of Applied Catalysis B: Environmental, and is an Associate Editor of Science Advances. She holds ten patents and has written more than 160 technical papers. She is the recipient of a number of awards, including the Tufts Distinguished Scholar award, the Henry J. Albert award of the International Precious Metals Institute, the Giuseppe Parravano Memorial award of the Michigan Catalysis Society, the Graduate Teaching and Mentoring Award of the Tufts School of Engineering, and the Carol Tyler award of the IPMI. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the AAAS and the AIChE.

Recent Honors and Awards

  • 2017 Honorary Professor, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, PRC
  • 2016 Carol Tyler Award, IPMI
  • 2016 Honorary Professor, Tianjin University, PRC
  • 2015 Distinguished Professor
  • 2015 Graduate Teaching and Mentoring Award, School of Engineering, Tufts University
  • 2014 Member, National Academy of Engineering
  • 2014 Associate Editor, Science Advances
  • 2013 Director-at-Large, North American Catalysis Society
  • 2013 Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award, The Michigan Catalysis Society
  • 2012 2nd Vice Chair, AIChE/Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Division
  • 2009 Robert and Marcy Haber Endowed Professor in Energy Sustainability, Tufts University
  • 2009 Fellow, American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • 2008 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2008 Henry J. Albert award, International Precious Metals Institute
  • 2007 Distinguished Scholar Award, Tufts University
  • 2002 Editor, North and South America, Applied Catalysis B: Environmental

Courses Taught

  • ChBE 103/160 Chemical and Catalytic Reaction Engineering
  • ChBE 173 Clean Energy Technologies and Policy
  • ChBE 202 Chemical Kinetics and Catalysis

Research Interests

  • Nanoscale Gold Catalysts
  • Single Atom Supported Metal Catalysts
  • Fuel Processing and Fuel Cells
  • Single Atom Alloy Catalysts for selective hydrogenation and oxidation reactions