Skip to main content
School of Engineering

Faculty members receive accolades

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Three School of Engineering professors have been recognized for outstanding service to students and to Tufts.
lasser, messner, and wendell

Three School of Engineering faculty members have been awarded for their excellence in teaching, research, and service to the Tufts community. The following individuals were recognized at the final combined School of Engineering and School of Arts and Sciences faculty meeting of the semester on Tuesday, May 14 in the Aidekman Arts Center.

Ronald Lasser, professor of the practice in electrical and computer engineering, received the Henry and Madeline Fischer Award for the third consecutive year. This award is given annually to a faculty member in the School of Engineering judged by graduating engineering seniors to be “Teacher of the Year.”

Bill Messner, the John R. Beaver Professor in Mechanical Engineering, earned the Faculty/Staff Multicultural Service Award. The AS&E Equal Education Opportunity Committee designates this honor in recognition of the contributions made by faculty and staff to define Tufts as a multicultural environment in which race, ethnicity, religion, class, gender, and sexual orientation are not barriers to the full enjoyment of community membership.

Kristen Bethke Wendell, assistant professor in mechanical engineering and the McDonnell Family Professor in Engineering Education, received the Recognition of Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award. This award recognizes full-time faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching and advising, show concern for their students’ academic and personal growth, and who convey a passion and enthusiasm for their field of study.