Skip to main content
School of Engineering

Advancing women in mathematical sciences

Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Professor Diane Souvaine is recognized by the Association for Women in Mathematics for her commitment to the progress of women and girls in mathematical sciences.
Diane Souvaine, AWM Fellow 2020

In recognition of Professor Diane Souvaine’s advocacy for the advancement of women in mathematical sciences, the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) has selected her as a 2020 AWM Fellow. Throughout her career at Tufts University, Souvaine has created programs and pathways to enhance the success of women and underrepresented groups in mathematics, science, and engineering, from pre-college through work and/or academic tenure.

Souvaine serves as professor of computer science and holds a secondary appointment in mathematics. She previously completed terms as chair of the Department of Computer Science, Vice Provost for Research, and Senior Advisor to the Provost.

In addition to her work at Tufts, Souvaine currently serves as the chair of the National Science Board, a 24-member group that governs the National Science Foundation and advises the United States government regarding science policy. She was appointed to the board by President George W. Bush in 2008, reappointed by President Barack Obama in 2014, elected vice chair in 2016, and elected chair in 2018.

Souvaine’s research contributions range from solving challenging problems in computational geometry to practical application across disciplines. Her work extended the results of straight-edged computational geometry into the curved world. Visibility, triangulations, and geometric graphs represent another focus of Souvaine’s research, as does the application of computational geometry to statistics. Her research led to consulting engagements with corporations such as Exxon Chemical Research, IBM, and Pfizer.

The AWM was founded in 1971 with the mission to encourage women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences. The fellowship program awards individuals who demonstrate a commitment to the advancement of women in mathematical sciences and the promotion of equal opportunities for women and girls within the discipline.