Tufts University congratulates Nadine Aubry

Professor Nadine Aubry poses for a photograph in her office.

Tufts University celebrates the election of Nadine Aubry, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, to the United Kingdom's Royal Academy of Engineering.

Congratulations to Professor Aubry! As we celebrate, we look back on her outstanding career as an internationally recognized scholar and academic innovator.

Excellence in fluid dynamics

Aubry has made notable contributions to the reduced modeling of turbulence and other flows for significantly faster flow representation, prediction, and control for increased efficiency, and to novel technologies including microfluidics. From ocean currents and air flow around airfoils to blood flowing through arteries and miniature flows in tiny devices such as lab-on-a-chip, fluid flows are abundant across nature and industry and impact fields including aerospace, medicine, and many more.

Her work is decorated with recognition from several prestigious organizations. She has received the Fluid Dynamics Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the Fluids Engineering Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the G.I. Taylor Medal from the Society of Engineering Science.

Academic innovation

As Provost and Senior Vice President (2019-2021), Aubry oversaw Tufts' eight degree-granting schools and numerous interdisciplinary programs, centers, and institutes on campuses in Boston, Medford/Somerville, and Grafton, Massachusetts, and in Talloires, France. Prior to joining Tufts, Aubry served as Dean of the College of Engineering at Northeastern University from 2012 -2019 and was Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor and University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University.

Aubry has served the field through her academic leadership in numerous national and international boards and committees. Her current leadership roles include the George and Virginia Bugliarello International Secretary and Programs Chair of the National Academy of Engineering, and vice president of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, for which she served as president in 2016-2020.

International honors

Aubry has also been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Academy of Mechanics, European Academy of Sciences and Arts, National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Inventors, and as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, American Physical Society, and American Society of Mechanical Engineers.