Engineering Faculty Research Awards

The Engineering Faculty Research Awards Committee (EFRAC) recognizes innovative scholarship and research in the School of Engineering. The committee is composed of members of the Engineering Dean's Council and is chaired by Matthew Panzer, Dean of Research for the School of Engineering.

Award nomination procedures are posted on the School of Engineering's Policies and Procedures website. If you have any questions, please contact SOE Faculty Affairs at

Sunrise Award

The Sunrise Award recognizes the outstanding scholarly accomplishments of one junior faculty member for research in their discipline. Assistant Professor Srivalleesha Mallidi of the Department of Biomedical Engineering received the 2023 award. Learn more about Mallidi's research.

Past recipients:

Srivalleesha Mallidi, Biomedical Engineering, 2023
Madeleine Oudin, Biomedical Engineering, 2022
Prashant Deshlahra, Chemical and Biological Engineering, 2022

From left to right: Professor and Dean of Research Matt Panzer, Assistant Professor Srivalleesha Mallidi, Dean of the School of Engineering Kyongbum Lee, and Interim Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering Sergio Fantini.

Bright Light Award

The Bright Light Award recognizes the sustained and distinguished research and scholarly accomplishments of one faculty member over the last 5-10 years.

Past recipients:

Irene Georgakoudi, Biomedical Engineering, 2022
Matthias Scheutz, Computer Science, 2022

Science and Engineering Complex at Tufts University

Large Research Initiative Seed Award

The Large Research Initiative Seed Award is intended to enable the writing of large collaborative initiatives (i.e.. ERC, EFRI, NIH P41/U10, center grants). These awards will be evaluated by the Engineering Dean’s Council and granted on a rolling basis pending exhaustion of funds.

High Impact Publishing Awards

The High Impact Publishing Awards are for faculty who have articles accepted in high impact journals (i.e., publications with an impact factor of 30 or more).