Part-time PhD Programs

cloud reflected in SEC windows

Tufts School of Engineering’s part-time PhD Program is helping working professionals achieve their education and career goals to conduct cutting-edge research and develop new technologies. We invite industry professionals to pursue their Doctoral studies while working with our world-class faculty. Below you will find a list of faculty members who are eager to receive applications with professionals seeking part-time PhD opportunities.

Students who are interested in working with a Tufts Gordon Institute (TGI) faculty member will also be required to obtain a co-adviser from one of the six engineering departments.

Who should apply:

Any qualified domestic students who are interested in continued learning, developing their skill set, or expanding their career path. This program is not available to international applicants unless they are currently working for a U.S. company. No visas can be issued for part-time PhD students.

PhD Programs:

Biomedical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Computer Science

Mechanical Engineering

Biotechnology Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering

 

Participating Faculty:

Click a department listed below for a dropdown list of participating faculty members.

Biomedical Engineering
Instructor Email

Assistant Professor Brian Timko

Brian.Timko@tufts.edu

Chemical and Biological Engineering
Instructor Email

Professor Emmanuel Tzanakakis

Emmanuel.Tzanakakis@tufts.edu

Professor and Chair Kyongbum Lee

Kyongbum.Lee@tufts.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering
Instructor Email

Associate Professor Daniele Lantagne

Daniele.Lantagne@tufts.edu

Professor David M. Gute

David.Gute@tufts.edu

Professor and Chair Laurie Baise

Laurie.Baise@tufts.edu

Professor Luis Dorfmann

Luis.Dorfmann@tufts.edu

Associate Professor Wayne Chudyk

Wayne.Chudyk@tufts.edu

Computer Science
Instructor Email

Professor Abani Patra

Abani.Patra@tufts.edu

Assistant Professor Daniel Votipka

Daniel.Votipka@tufts.edu

Professor Lenore Cowen

Lenore.Cowen@tufts.edu

Tufts Gordon Institute
Instructor Email

Lecturer Abbott D. Weiss

Abbott.Weiss@tufts.edu

Lecturer Jerry Brightman

Jerome.Brightman@tufts.edu

Mechanical Engineering
Instructor Email

Professor Chris Rogers

Chris.Rogers@tufts.edu

Professor of the Practice Daniel Hannon

Dan.Hannon@tufts.edu

Assistant Teaching Professor Erica Kemmerling

Erica.Kemmerling@tufts.edu

Professor and Chair Jason Rife

Jason.Rife@tufts.edu

Associate Professor Jeffrey Guasto

Jeffrey.Guasto@tufts.edu

Assistant Professor Matthew Woodward

Matthew.Woodward@tufts.edu

Deadlines:

  • Spring applications need to be completed and submitted by September 15th.
  • Fall applications need to be completed and submitted by December 15th.

Some exceptions may be made by the faculty member you will be working with.

Tuition and fees:

Students who enroll part-time in an engineering PhD program will be responsible for all tuition and fees charged at a per credit rate. No scholarships or financial aid or stipends are available for these programs. Please visit https://asegrad.tufts.edu/tuition-and-aid for more details.

How to Apply:

Application Requirements
All applicants must submit the following materials:

Contact an advisor or faculty member
Contact the advisor or faculty member with whom you would like to study to talk about the specific requirements. Before applying you must first have a discussion with a faculty member to confirm that there is mutual interest in the research the applicant intends to pursue. A successful discussion and any agreement among the candidate and faculty member does not supersede the formal application process. All applicants must formally apply. The application will be reviewed following all the processes and guidelines established for SOE graduate applicants.

Online Application for Admission 

Note: An application fee of $85 is payable through the online application by credit card or e-check (drawn on a U.S. bank). The application fee is not refundable. Your credit card or e-check statement is your receipt. Applications cannot be reviewed until this fee has been received. Check our website to see if you are eligible for a fee waiver. 

Academic Records
Applicants are required to upload a copy of transcripts received from each accredited college or university attended, where credit was earned toward an undergraduate, graduate, or professional degree. Transcripts for study abroad or transfer programs are not required if the course titles, grades, and credit hours are included on the transcript of the degree-granting institution. If the transcript is in a language other than English, you are required to provide a certified, official translation into English. If you are admitted and decide to enroll, you will be required to request the official hard copy transcripts from all of your degree granting institutions be sent directly to our Office of Graduate Admissions, from that institution, before you can matriculate. 

Graduate Record Examination (GRE)
GRE scores are no longer required for candidates with an undergraduate or graduate degree from an accredited U.S. institution.

Letters of Recommendation
Most programs will require three letters of recommendation. Current Tufts students and alumni are only required to submit two letters. If an applicant submits three letters, one letter may be a commitment letter from your company that your studies will be supported. Letters of recommendation should be submitted through the online application system. If that is not possible, you may have your recommender email their letter as an attachment to gradadmissions@tufts.edu, from a company/institutional/organization/professional email account.

Personal Statement
Applicants are required to upload a personal statement describing your reasons for wanting to pursue graduate study at Tufts in the program to which you are applying. Please limit your personal statement to a maximum of five pages. Refer to the Requirements and Deadlines document to determine if the program to which you are applying has specific prompts. 

Résumé / CV
A current résumé or CV that includes information about, and dates of your educational history, employment, academic honors, scholarships, publications, and other activities is required to be uploaded as part of your completed application.

Financial Aid and Employer Tuition Reimbursement

Low-interest Federal Direct Loans and Federal Perkins Loans are administered by Tufts Student Financial Services which maintains information on all federal programs as well as alternative forms of financing such as non-need-based loans. Federal aid is available for U.S. citizens and permanent residents only. To apply for Federal Direct loans, complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The form is available online at www.fafsa.ed.gov, and the Tufts University Institution code is 002219. We recommend that you file the FAFSA by December 1 for spring admission and by March 1 for fall admission.

Tuition reimbursement/Tuition assistance is an employee benefit through which an employer pays for a predetermined amount of continuing education credits or college coursework to be applied toward a degree. These programs are intended for employees looking to advance their careers and educational goals by increasing their industry knowledge and developing advanced skills.