Skip to main content
School of Engineering

2018 Graduate Awards announced

Thursday, April 19, 2018
Each year, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering honor their graduate students, faculty, and alumni through the Graduate Awards. 
A close-up photo of orange lillies outside a wrought-iron gate at Tufts University.

This year, six engineering graduate students received Graduate Awards for their academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship. Faculty members and student groups also received awards for their work.

Ph.D. candidates Matthew Mueller of Mechanical Engineering and Kristen Tgavalekos of Biomedical Engineering received the School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education. 

Georgios Karamanis, a Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering, and Ilin Sadeghi, a Ph.D. candidate in chemical engineering, received the SOE Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship. 

Biomedical Engineering Ph.D. candidate Nishanth Krishnamurthy was given the SOE Award for Commitment to the Practice of Engineering, and Emily Airoldi, EG18, was awarded the Gordon Institute Outstanding Student Award in Engineering Management.

Samuel Guyer, an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science, received the SOE Faculty Teaching and Mentoring Award.

Finally, the Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering Society (BEaCHES) received two awards: the Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award and the award for Outstanding Graduate Student Organization.

The 2018 Graduate Award Ceremony takes place on April 27 at 3:45 p.m. in Distler Hall, Granoff Music Center.