Skip to main content
School of Engineering

2020 Graduate Awards announced

Thursday, April 23, 2020
The School of Engineering and the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences honor their graduate students, faculty, and staff each year.
The atrium of the new Science and Engineering Complex

While the Graduate Awards Ceremony did not take place as scheduled on April 24 due to the cancellation of campus events to help limit the spread of COVID-19, the spirit of celebration lives on! The School of Engineering congratulates exceptional graduate students, faculty, and staff and thanks them for their outstanding efforts.

Eight engineering graduate students received awards celebrating their contributions to academic performance, research, student leadership, community service and citizenship, and undergraduate education at Tufts. Faculty and staff were also recognized for their work.

Chemical Engineering PhD candidate and president of the university's Graduate Student Council Zijing Sylvia Chen received the Robert P. Guertin Student Leadership Award.

Computer Science PhD candidate Matthew Ahrens, Electrical Engineering PhD candidate Srijith Rajeev, and Mechanical Engineering PhD candidate Sara Wilner-Giwerc were each recognized with the School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Graduate Contributor to Engineering Education.

Mechanical Engineering PhD candidate Amin Dehkharghani, Electrical Engineering PhD candidate Shreyas Kamath, and Mechanical Engineering PhD candidate Matthew Watson received the School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Academic Scholarship.

Assistant Teaching Professor Erica Kemmerling of the Department of Mechanical Engineering was honored with the School of Engineering Teaching and Mentoring Award.

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) thanked a staff member and a student with Service Awards: department administrator Margaret DeChiaro and PhD candidate (and GSC treasurer) Morgan Taylor, both of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering. The GSC also recognized the Graduate Society of Women Engineers (GSWE) as one of its two Outstanding Graduate Student Organizations of the year.

Congratulations to all the winners!